The David M. Rubenstein Scholarship Program

Applications for the 2014 David M. Rubenstein/Economic Club of Washington, D.C. Scholarship Program are no longer being accepted.

The David M. Rubenstein/Economic Club of Washington, D.C. Scholarship Program is one of the few large-scale scholarship initiatives dedicated exclusively to students graduating from D.C. public schools. Nearly 50 scholarships of $10,000 each were awarded in 2013. The awards are granted primarily for academic achievement.

Forms for Current Scholars:
College Information Sheet
Media Release
Mentee Commitment Form

Education Program Details

The David M. Rubenstein/Economic Club of Washington, D.C. Scholarships are awarded primarily for academic achievement. Recipients are chosen by a school’s principal and nominating committee. Only students enrolled in participating Washington, D.C., public schools and public charter schools are eligible to apply.

The scholarship awards are presented every spring in a formal ceremony. Each award winner and an adult chaperone are invited to attend. Student recipients also are invited to participate in Leadership Development Seminars hosted by Economic Club members over the summer.

The Leadership Development Seminars help scholarship recipients prepare for life at college and in the workforce of the future. At the sessions, representatives of each of the sponsoring organizations present life lesson experiences to help the participating students explore such matters as college budgeting, lunch etiquette, and social networking. Classroom discussions cover a variety of workplace issues. Some Leadership Development sponsors also offer scholarship recipients additional opportunities for social networking by arranging entertainment experiences such as group outings to professional sporting events in Washington, D.C.

Scholarship Eligibility Requirements

To be eligible for one of the $10,000 college scholarships awarded annually by the David M. Rubenstein/Economic Club of Washington, D.C. Scholarship Program, students must meet the following criteria.

  • You must attend a participating D.C. public school or public charter school. (See the list of participating schools below.)
  • You must be enrolled full time as a high school student, taking at least four credits of courses during your current and final year.
  • You must be a graduating senior who has applied to and been accepted by a degree-granting program in an accredited college or university.
  • You must be a citizen of the United States or a U.S. lawful permanent resident. Students who have applied for permanent residence, whose application has not been denied, and who intend to become a U.S. citizen at the earliest opportunity allowed by law also are eligible to apply.
  • You must graduate from high school and plan to enroll full time in college no later than the fall following completion of high school. 

Participating Schools                   

DC Public Schools DC Public Charter Schools
Anacostia HS Booker T. Washington PCS
Ballou HS Capital City PCS
Benjamin Banneker Academic HS Cesar Chavez PCS Capitol Hill
Cardozo HS Cesar Chavez PCS Parkside
Columbia Heights Educational Campus          Friendship Collegiate PCS
Coolidge HS IDEA PCS
Duke Ellington School of the Arts KIPP DC
Dunbar HS Maya Angelou PCS
Luke C. Moore Academy Options PCS
McKinley Technology HS Perry Street Prep PCS
Roosevelt HS Thurgood Marshall Academy PCS
School Without Walls HS Washington Math, Science and Technology PCS
Woodrow Wilson HS  
Woodson HS